Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003, 12:01 AM

Bibliophile



I think I have an addiction. I bought another book tonight. I can't stop. I did well, at first. I went grocery shopping (12 pack of ginger ale, half and half for my tea, ruby red grapefruit and tangerine juice, and a 9-volt battery for my smoke alarm) at a food store right next to a Barnes and Noble bookstore. I managed to force myself to go shopping so that I would have no excuse with a load of perishables afterward in my car to visit the bookstore. Well, my oh so smart inner voice reminded me that the temperature was hovering around 10 F outside and my perishables would be just fine in the car as I perused the shelves of said bookstore. I am weak. I gave in.

I browsed for many minutes, pausing occasionally to read the dust jacket of a random book, or pretend to as I let my gaze follow various young ladies' progress amongst the stacks. After three-quarters of an hour I was on my way out of the store without book or CD in hand. I stopped in the little foyer area between the inner and outer set of doors to put on my gloves when a bargain title caught my eye. You see it is in this no-man's land that they display the discount and clearance titles that no sane person could ever desire to purchase. I suppose that says something about my sanity. And now I get to read three books at once. The stack on my front bookshelf of purchased and yet to be read books grows ever higher, leaning precariously and toying with natural laws.

So now I am reading Microserfs by Douglas Coupland, Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett and A Friend of the Earth by T. Coraghessan Boyle.

I am incorrigible.