Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2003, 11:59 PM

Tick off another year and bring me a knife to cut this damn cake



We interrupt this diary to bring you an important news flash�In the city of Pittsburgh we understand that a large work system has moved in and entirely devastated the lives of several key individuals. It seems that a substantial amount of responsibility fell overnight blanketing the area usually reserved for a personal and social life. Yes, reports are coming in now of at least one casualty�wait, I can see them digging him out from under the debris�Sir, sir are you alright? He seems to be nodding and walking under his own power. They are leading him away. Well, that certainly was exciting, and I'm sure he will need to be kept for observation before returning to his normal duties.

Today was like any other day in the last two weeks of my life. I woke up from less than 5 hours of sleep (what a luxury! At least 1 to 2 hours more than normal!) to shower in a mindless haze and arrive at work with no memory of actually driving there. I spent the day working on this damnable project and left the office around 7PM. Three things were different about today than any other day in the last two weeks.

1) I did not go home and work until 2 or 3 or 4 in the morning.
2) I stopped at the grocery store on the way home, bought cake mix, made a cake, and sung Happy Birthday to myself.
3) I made time to write and post this entry.

I am truly sorry for the delay in posts. It is interesting to me to note that I am genuinely saddened by the fact that I have not posted. I need to work less. I need to make time for myself. I need to take time off after this project is over and not allow myself to slip back into this abyss of tedium and toiling. Like a drunkard I will say it, "After this time I will never do this again," but I know I will. I just hope I have some time between this one and the next to satiate my diary itch and post a lot. A whole lot.
And for those who care or just like trivia the number is 31.