Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2002, 4:40 PM

Dreams of tactile prosperity


I had a dream last night that our company was bought out and the few employees who scratch out a meager existence became vastly wealthy overnight. That isn�t the interesting part. You see, in my dream, I was unhappy just looking at the numbers on my account statement; it wasn�t real enough for me to experience my new wealth. It lacked the tactile experience I longed for. So I bought a modest house in town and converted the basement into a cave-like area, complete with a dirt floor, stalactites, stalagmites, and a small pond. In the back of the cave I had purchased and placed a large wooden chest that I then filled with gold, gems, jewelry, and various gilt-handled swords. I had created my own treasure cave. My own booty in hiding.

In my dream when I showed my boss and friends how I had chosen to experience my wealth they just kind of sighed, shook their head, and said that there is something not quite right with me.

This morning at work when I told them about my dream their reaction was the same.