Wednesday, Sept. 01, 2004, 4:44 PM

Music is golden



I have recently taken a count and I have determined that since the last weekend of June I am currently reading my tenth book. That equates to roughly one book every week. I'm sure that this is due in no small part to the frequent plane trips I make to Chicago. The act of sitting in a terminal for no less than 1 -1.5 hours, and then flying for another hour plus, leaves me with plenty of time to read. I find that if I am some small distance into a book when one of these trips is approaching, that I need to be sure to pack a new book as I will undoubtedly finish the current book before the return trip ends.

My book on plane reading has only ever been interrupted once - I struck up a conversation with an attractive young blond woman, who is studying music in college, and was the owner of a $15,000 flute. Yes, that is correct, 15 large. She said that it is made of solid silver and that the more pure the metal the more pure the sound. She said that she had seen a $50,000 flute of gold and a $90,000 flute of platinum when she was looking to purchase. Hmmm, does that mean that there is a market for titanium instruments?